REVIEW by Lorna: One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress #6) by Jeaniene Frost (@JeanieneFrost , @Mollykatie112)

OneGraveAtaTimeBlogPicHow do you send a killer to the grave when he’s already dead?

Having narrowly averted an (under)World War, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleans’s voodoo queen just keeps on giving—leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.

Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity—forever. But one wrong step and they’ll be digging their own graves.


One Grave At A Time
by Jeaniene Frost

Night Huntress #6

Urban Fantasy
Paranormal Romance

Avon Romance

Publication Date:
August 30, 2011


Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series is one of my favorite paranormal series. These books features Cat, a former half vampire-now whole-and Bones, a powerful master vampire, her husband. The two of them manage to get mixed up in the craziest situations and spend most of their time trying to extricate themselves, or their friends from these problems. There’s such a wide cast of characters in this series that the author has spun one character, Vlad(also known as Vlad the Impaler or more commonly, Dracula) off in a series of his own. She has also written books about some of the couple’s friends, and they are part of the Night Huntress World, and aren’t considered part of this seven book series.

This time around the story centers around an evil ghost that participated in the witch trials. He’s so strong now that he can now walk the earth as a man every Halloween. During that day, he tortures and kills three women after accusing them of being witches-every year. Pretty much an ancient serial killer. When Cat and Bones are asked by another ghost to find him before he can kill again, life gets crazy for the couple yet again.

This world inhabited by Cat and Bones is a world where the supernatural population hide in plain sight, and they aren’t really hiding. They live amongst humans, and the ones in these books are mostly wealthy after living a very long life. Some have really strong powers other than immortality, and others not so much. Because Bones is a master vampire, he has all kinds of different sorts of powers, flying being the best one in my opinion. Cat is different than other vampires and instead of drinking blood from humans, she can only sustain her life by drinking from other vampires.The by-product of this is that she takes on whatever powers that the person she drinks from have, for about a month or so before they dissapate. Since her main blood source is her husband, she has all of his powers usually-and sometimes others as well from other sources-just to keep it more interesting.

The characters of Cat and Bones are the best part of this series of course. Their meeting, romance, and all the events that have unfolded since book one, make up the crux of these books.There’s always life and death moments, people that need saving, people dying, ghosts haunting, ghouls, demons, and other immortals causing problems, and it all makes for a fascinating series and an all round good read!

Highly recommended to adult paranormal romance and urban fantasy fans!

Amazon Button

Lorna Finished
The review copy of this book was purchased by the reviewer.


Pure Textuality’s Interview With Jeaniene Frost

Click the banner to read Jena’s interview with Jeaniene from November 2012.



Night Huntress / Night Huntress World / Night Price

The Night Prince novels are a spin off series from the Night Huntress  series, as are the Night Huntress World novels.  The books shown below are all three intertwined series in the author’s recommended reading order.  Click on the cover image to be taken to the book’s Goodreads page.

halfway-to-the-grave-lg  one-foot-in-the-grave-lg  at graves end  destined-early-grave-xl

first-drop-of-crimson-xl1 eternal_kiss_of_darkness this side of the grave OneGraveAtaTimeBlogPic

Once Burned  TwiceTempted-mm-cover-for-blog1  Up_from_the_Grave_(Jeaniene_Frost)


About Jeaniene Frost

jeanieneJeaniene Frost is the New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling author of the Night Huntress series, the Night Prince series and the new Broken Destiny series. To date, foreign rights for her novels have sold to twenty different countries. Jeaniene lives in North Carolina with her husband Matthew, who long ago accepted that she rarely cooks and always sleeps in on the weekends. Aside from writing, Jeaniene enjoys reading, poetry, watching movies with her husband, exploring old cemeteries, spelunking and traveling – by car. Airplanes, children, and cook books frighten her.


Author Links

website  facebook  twitter  goodreads  Amazon icon

You may also like...


  1. This series was one of he first paranormal series that I read and became hooked on! I was saddened when I learned that this was the last book, thank goodness we have Jeaniene Frost’s Night Prince series. Great review!

    1. lornak99 says:

      I think there is one more after this-at least I hope there is! I love the Night Prince series as well! And Thank you! (sorry just saw your reply)

  2. I have the 1st book in this series waiting for me to read. I have heard so many good things about it I can’t wait to start!

    1. lornak99 says:

      Oh I think you will love them! Excellent series 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.