REVIEW by Trish: A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time #14) by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson (BrandSanderson)

A Memory of LightSince 1990, when Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time® burst on the world with its first book, The Eye of the World, readers have been anticipating the final scenes of this extraordinary saga, which has sold over forty million copies in over thirty languages.
When Robert Jordan died in 2007, all feared that these concluding scenes would never be written. But working from notes and partials left by Jordan, established fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson stepped in to complete the masterwork. With The Gathering Storm (Book 12) and Towers of Midnight (Book 13) behind him, both of which were # 1 New York Times hardcover bestsellers, Sanderson now re-creates the vision that Robert Jordan left behind.
Edited by Jordan’s widow, who edited all of Jordan’s books, A Memory of Light will delight, enthrall, and deeply satisfy all of Jordan’s legions of readers.
The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass.
What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.
Let the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.

A Memory of Light
by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson
Wheel of Time #14
Epic Fantasy
High Fantasy
Tor Books
Publication Date
April 9, 2013
df2b8-goodreads-button  amazon-button
Let me say, it’s been a long journey. The world and story created by Robert Jordan and finished by Brandon Sanderson has been engrained into my psyche, probably forever. The histories, the places, the people, though fictional, have a very real place in my heart. Epic isn’t quite the right word, something more than epic. I’m both elated and traumatized. I can truly say I didn’t see any of it coming, which is amazing for a series riddled with omens and prophecies.
And I’ve read fight scenes and battle scenes, but never an entire book that was essentially one single battle, though one on several fronts, weaving in characters big and small from every book leading up to it. Neatly and completely wrapped up in one final package that is as complex and engrossing as one would expect from a series of this caliber.
I am immensely impressed with how well Brandon Sanderson completed the series for Robert Jordan, particularly with how he channeled Mr. Jordan’s voice and vision. It didn’t seem like another person writing it; it seemed like the same person. I am grateful.
So, yes, if you’ve read or are reading the others in this series, finish them up and read this one. If you haven’t, maybe give it a shot. If you are stuck rereading the whole thing in preparation for this one, but are losing steam, do what I did and just skip to the last one. I highly recommend this entire series for fans of epic fantasy, particularly for folks who want a series that’s not only incredible on the first read through, but utterly re-readable with something new in every reading.
Trish Finished
The review copy of this book was purchased by the reviewer.

About Robert Jordan

Robert JordanRobert Jordan was born in 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He taught himself to read when he was four with the incidental aid of a twelve-years-older brother and was tackling Mark Twain and Jules Verne by five. He is a graduate of The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics. He served two tours in Vietnam with the U.S. Army; among his decorations are the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster, the Bronze Star with “V” and bronze oak leaf cluster, and two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palm. A history buff, he has also written dance and theater criticism and enjoyed the outdoor sports of hunting, fishing, and sailing, and the indoor sports of poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting.
Robert Jordan began writing in 1977 and went on to write The Wheel of Time(R), one of the most important and best selling series in the history of fantasy publishing with over 14 million copies sold in North America, and countless more sold abroad.
Robert Jordan died on September 16, 2007, after a courageous battle with the rare blood disease amyloidosis.

Author Links

goodreads  Amazon icon

About Brandon Sanderson

Brandon SandersonI’m Brandon Sanderson, and I write stories of the fantastic: fantasy, science fiction, and thrillers.
January 2015 marks the release of Firefight, the sequel to Steelheart. When only evil people gain super powers and become tyrants, it’s up to normal people to hunt them down. There is a free 5-chapter preview ebook of Steelheart here on Amazon that you should check out, with a corresponding sampler audiobook on Audible. My Firefight book tour in the US lasts throughout January.
Recent short releases are Legion: Skin Deep (sequel to Legion), the further investigations of an average man whose many hallucinations are all experts in their own fields, and also my novella Sixth of the Dusk, set in the same universe as Mistborn and Stormlight, revolving around an attack on an island trapper’s way of life.
My biggest recent epic fantasy is Words of Radiance, written as a love letter of sorts to the epic fantasy genre. It continues the story of the Stormlight Archive that began in The Way of Kings, and it’s the type of book I always dreamed epic fantasy could be. October 2015 and January 2016 will also see the release of two new Mistborn books, Shadows of Self and Bands of Mourning.
Mistborn and the Stormlight Archive are among my most popular works, as are my concluding volumes to Robert Jordan’s epic series The Wheel of Time. My novella The Emperor’s Soul won a Hugo Award in 2013. That year also marked the release of my first young adult fantasy, The Rithmatist.
Sample chapters from all of my books are available at — and check out the rest of my site for chapter-by-chapter annotations, deleted scenes, and more.

Author Links

website  facebook  twitter  goodreads  Amazon icon

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.