$0.99 Fantasy Read Alert! Check out this excerpt & giveaway from THE OTHER MAGIC by Derrick Smythe!

Darkness stirs in a world that is ill-equipped to confront it. A prophesied king is born, but not all will benefit from his foretold conquests.In a realm where only clerics are permitted to practice magic, Kibure, a mere slave, draws the attention of much more than just his master after wielding an unknown force in …

SNEAK PEEK REVIEW by EN Blake: Myths and Mortals by Charlie N. Holmberg

Wall Street Journal bestselling author Charlie N. Holmberg builds her bewitching world of beasts and betrayal as the Numina Series continues. Sandis has escaped Kazen’s grasp, but she finds herself unmoored, reeling from her thief friend Rone’s betrayal. Kazen has been hurt but not stopped, and he’ll do anything to summon the monster that could lay …

SNEAK PEEK REVIEW by EN Blake: Shadowblade by Anna Kashina – Includes an Excerpt!

A young sword prodigy must impersonate a lost princess and throw her life into a deadly political game, in this kinetic epic fantasy novel by the author of the award-winning Majat Code series Naia dreams of becoming a Jaihar Blademaster, but after assaulting a teacher, her future seems ruined. The timely intervention of a powerful …

NEW RELEASE REVIEW by EN Blake: Smoke and Summons by Charlie N Holmberg

A captivating world of monsters and magic from the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Paper Magician Series. As a human vessel for an ancient spirit, Sandis lives no ordinary life. At the command of her master, she can be transformed against her will into his weapon—a raging monster summoned to do his bidding. Unlike other …

New Release! Check out this excerpt for THE CURSED SEA by Lauren DeStefano!

The second in an exciting fantasy duology about a princess cursed to turn any living thing she touches into gemstone from Lauren DeStefano, the bestselling author of the Chemical Garden series. Perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Renée Ahdieh. Wil, the exiled princess of northern Arrod, must do what she never thought possible: return …

REVIEW by J’aime: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin – Includes an Excerpt!

In this brilliantly original debut fantasy, a young woman becomes entangled in a power struggle of mythic proportions. Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the …

REVIEW by Trish: Assassins Of Riaz by Michael Drakich – Includes an Excerpt!

In Riaz, the profession of assassin is an honored one. Hired throughout the other eight realms, their use of powerful magic to complete assignments makes them a valuable commodity. When a regional trade negotiation is scheduled in their capital city of Lymos, the demand for the skills of the assassins is sure to change the …

REVIEW by J’aime: Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb – Includes and Excerpt!

Bingtown is a hub of exotic trade and home to a merchant nobility famed for its liveships—rare vessels carved from wizardwood, which ripens magically into sentient awareness. Now the fortunes of one of Bingtown’s oldest families rest on the newly awakened liveship Vivacia. For Althea Vestrit, the ship is her rightful legacy. For Althea’s young nephew, …

REVIEW by Trish: Shadows of Self (Mistborn #5) by Brandon Sanderson (@BrandSanderson)

The #1 New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn with his first novel in the series since The Alloy of Law. With The Alloy of Law, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Times bestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after the action of the trilogy, in a period …

NEW RELEASE REVIEW by Trish: The Bands of Mourning (Mistborn #6) by Brandon Sanderson (@BrandSanderson)

The #1 New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn with the follow-up to Shadows of Self. With The Alloy of Law and Shadows of Self, Brandon Sanderson surprised readers with a New York Times bestselling spinoff of his Mistborn books, set after the action of the trilogy, in a period corresponding …

REVIEW by Trish: Time Goes Round (Lizard Queen #7) by H.L. Cherryholmes (@HLCherryholmes)

Amy Darlidale has returned to her world to pull herself together. Her recent experiences have taken a significant toll and gradually, as she rebuilds relationships and reconnects with her past, she regains her strength. In doing so she discovers a few clues in her own world that she hopes will help her to fulfill the …

REVIEW by Trish: A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time #14) by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson (BrandSanderson)

Since 1990, when Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time® burst on the world with its first book, The Eye of the World, readers have been anticipating the final scenes of this extraordinary saga, which has sold over forty million copies in over thirty languages. When Robert Jordan died in 2007, all feared that these concluding …

REVIEW by Trish: Thief’s Magic (Millennium’s Rule #1) by Trudi Canavan (@TrudiCanavan)

THIS IS A CORRECT REVIEW!!!  We apologize for the glitch, but the review which was posted at 9am this morning was actually for a different book.  Unfortunately, this mistake was not caught until now.  Please take a moment to read Trish’s thoughts on Thief’s Magic and disregard the review from this morning. Our greatest apologies …

REVIEW by Trish: Eric Elmoor and the Chalice of Cameron (Eric Elmoor #2) by Thomas A. Meyers (@tommythescribe)

Nearly a year has passed since the Battle of Fairwood, but the images of that day have been haunting Eric’s dreams ever since. Ben arrives back in Gondlair to warn Eric of their enemy’s resolve and to offer him a chance to resume his training. Wishing for some sort of normality, Eric turns down the …

REVIEW by Trish: Call of the Herald (The Dawning of Power Trilgogy #1) by Brian Rathbone (@brianrathbone)

Echoes of the ancients’ power are distant memories, tattered and faded by the passage of eons, but that is about to change. A new dawn has arrived. Latent abilities, harbored in mankind’s deepest fibers, wait to be unleashed. Ancient evils awaken, and old fears ignite the fires of war. When a Catrin Volker, a teenage …

REVIEW by Trish: Imager’s Challenge (Imager Portfolio #2) L.E. Modesitt Jr.

Imager’s Challenge takes up immediately after the conclusion of Imager. Still recovering from injuries received in foiling the plots of the Ferran envoy, Rhenn is preparing to take up his new duties as imager liaison to the Civic Patrol of L’Excelsis. No sooner has he assumed his new position than he discovers two things. First, …

REVIEW by Trish: Imager (Imager Portfolio #1) by L. E. Modesitt Jr. (@TorBooks)

Imager is the beginning of a whole new fantasy in a whole new magical world from the bestselling creator of Recluce. Although Rhennthyl is the son of a leading wool merchant in L’Excelsis, the capital of Solidar, the most powerful nation on Terahnar, he has spent years becoming a journeyman artist and is skilled and …

REVIEW by Eryn: Apples of Idunn (Ragnarok Era #1) by Matt Larkin (@mattalarkin , @rjbags19)

Odin, Jarl of an Aesir tribe, earns the attention of a goddess by slaying a giant. His valor prompts her to give him the apples of immortality—in return for marching against the gods of Vanaheim. He must risk everything to overthrow those he once worshipped, but doing so offers him the only chance to free …

REVIEW by Matt: The Fallen Angle (Harbinger of Doom #2) by Glenn Thater

In The Fallen Angle, Glenn G. Thater transports you to a time of legendary heroes, armored knights, spectacular duels, courtly intrigue, otherworldly evils, and ancient, forbidden magics. Though it can be read as a stand alone tale, The Fallen Angle is the second volume in Thater’s Harbinger of Doom series and picks up shortly after …

REVIEW by Matt: A Memory of Light (Final Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (@mattalarkin)

Since 1990, when Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time® burst on the world with its first book, The Eye of the World, readers have been anticipating the final scenes of this extraordinary saga, which has sold over forty million copies in over thirty languages. When Robert Jordan died in 2007, all feared that these concluding scenes …

NEWS: Curse of Witch and War (A Skyfall Era Short) by Matt Larkin FREE Today Only (@MattALarkin)

Malin, weretiger bodyguard to the Lunar King, fears an attack on the King’s wife. When the strike comes, though, it isn’t against the royal family. It’s against Malin’s own people. The fearsome Arun Guard assault the island of the weretigers, and Malin goes to their defense. But while he’s away, an even greater threat ravages …

COVER REVEAL: A New Release, a Cover Makeover and Some Flattering News From The Joseph Lallo Camp (@jrlallo)

A few days ago, I received and e-mail from Joseph Lallo that made me grin from ear to ear.  He’s in the process of having The Book of Deacon printed as a paperback and needed my permission to include a quote from my review.  I was flattered and speechless!  When I started Pure Textuality, I never in …